top of page



Alejandra Pizarnik


Died the 25th September 1972, due to an overdose of sodium Seconal. She studied in the Faculty of Literature and Philosophy in the University of Buenos Aires, took painting lessons and studied journalism. She lived in Paris from 1960 to 1964, where she wrote a selection of poems called “Árbol de Diana”. Among her friends were André Pieyre de Mandiargues, Octavio Paz, Julio Cortázar y Rosa Chacel. In Paris, she worked as a tests corrector and collaborated with European and American literary magazines. She translated works of Antonin Artaud, Yves Bonnefoy and Marguerite Duras, amongst others. Back in Buenos Aires, she published “Los trabajos y las noches” (“Works and Nights”), “Extracción de la piedra de la locura” (“Madness’ stone extraction”) and “El infierno musical” (“The musical hell”). In 1968 she is given the Guggenheim grant and travels to New York and Paris. She was born in Buenos Aires, April 1936.




Certain sound isles were conformed amongst which the audience moved freely from one to the other to listen to the texts repeated. This Necrodrama counted with a series of voice recordings. Interviews, poems and fragments of some scenes from the theatre play “los poseidos entre lilas” (“The possessed between lilies”).



Format: Sound Installment.

Voices: Fernando Noy, Arturo Carrera, Inés Efrón, Ivonne Bordelois Néstor Ducó, Laura Agorreca, Alicia Berdaxagar, Julio Cortázar, Myriam and Alejandra Pizarnik.

Technical collaboration: Pedro Merlo and Jav Hernández.

Photo: Jair Toledo.

Concept: Eloy González.

Dates: November, 2009. 

Place: Casa de la Lectura, Lavalleja 924, Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Argentina.


bottom of page